Below Level Makeover

Ugh…I meant to post this years ago and kept procrastinating. Procrastinating. Procrastinating. Never a good idea.

Now, the basement in this house hadn’t been touched since the 50s. The floor hadn’t, anyway. So, during the fall of…let’s say, 2017…my dad and I put in several nights and weekends updating half of the sublevel.

Rather than explain each step, considering most of us are visual anyway, I’ll let the photos speak:

Don’t worry, the walls in all the closets, as well as the other half of the basement, have been freshly painted a bright white–really helps brighten up all spaces.

We took a sprayer and some flat black paint to the ceilings for a sleek, industrious look.

We chose a nice waterproof, luxury vinyl flooring from Costco. It was simple, for the most part to install, and will never rot. I hope to never have to deal with flooding, but if I do I can simply pull up the planks, let them dry, and lay them back down.

Leave a comment