Project A1: Pallet Coffee Table

Back in September I was fishing through Pinterest (of course!) and noticed a friend of mine was saving pins revolving around building coffee tables. Due to the curious nature of my peculiar existence I began to scour pages and pages of DIY pallet coffee tables. I figured since my dad has all the necessary tools, and more, and, the simple fact I was sick of staring at my hideous early-90s laminated, particle board, factory-designed and built bore of a table, that I can and will build myself something nice!

_DSC0170

Being so anxious, let alone, impatient, I began working on the table without journaling all that I did. Therefore, I don’t have many photos to explain the process. This I’m working on and getting fairly better at. My problem is that I get so wrapped up in the creation of something I think little of how the blog will ultimately be formed. Forgive me!

Once the weather dipped, in November, I had to bring the table indoors…to the basement for the finish. Lots of wood filler was used. And, eventually, lots of stain was used!

_DSC0172_DSC0174_DSC0207_DSC0208

The base was anchored at every corner and fastened via angled screws hidden on the underside of each supporting 2×4.

_DSC0176

Once all was stained I mounted the table top to its stand using more L-brackets. Overall, I think I spent $50 on materials (pallet wood was free, thanks to my brother).

_DSC0213

She’s quite beastly! A heavy-duty table to a living room in need of some serious updating! (Yes, my sofa is disgusting but one must live under conditions formulated)

P1010661P1010673P1010665P1010672

I had run into a few problems–this being my very first solid woodworking project. I hadn’t noticed these stain bubbles until I set it up in my living room. I’m guessing while dabbing the brush in the polycrylic container, a few heavy drops discretely fell. Damnit!

P1010667

All in all, I’m quite happy with the outcome. I’ve received plenty of praise from friends and family. It was a blast to build so I’ll be continuing this hobby for quite some time. That is, until I get a hot rod to build!

P1010674

I’m working on more pieces throughout the spring, summer, and fall that’ll document a deeper understanding. I should start an Etsy account!

Leave a Reply

