Cincy!

_DSC0002 _DSC0006

Over the course of two nights and three days my girlfriend and I, along with her adorably fun loving daughter, took a trip to Cincy for labor day weekend.

_DSC0008small _DSC0010small

This was the very first time I stepped foot in the Ohio metropolis. Quite a great one, I must say!

_DSC0015 _DSC0018 _DSC0022 _DSC0027

My lady is quite the foodie so, obviously, we ate a lot of fine foods and I was shown several places throughout the town. Cincinnati, in my opinion, is a cross between SoCal and SE Michigan–the rolling hills and aged urbanity.

_DSC0029small _DSC0031 _DSC0033 _DSC0036

We ate macarons. We ate fine Italian cuisine. We enjoyed delectable gelato. We drank a few glasses of some decent vino and split a sixer of craft brews.

_DSC0043 _DSC0046

Two nights in a Hilton? Yes, please! The baby was quite fond of the spacious, and luxurious, studio suite…which, to our luck, was upgraded at no extra cost!

_DSC0051small_DSC0094

Steph often raves about Jungle Jim’s (Ohio’s largest international market). Whenever she had mentioned the place I always thought to myself, “We have Nino Salvaggio!” Uh-uh. This place is enormous! If the CEO ever stumbles across this blog, listen…PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! open a store in SE Michigan! I’m always curious of foods round the globe and I’d never seen so many choices in my entire life!

_DSC0064 _DSC0065small

Not to mention the kick ass entrances to the restrooms! 😛

_DSC0068 _DSC0079 _DSC0085small  _DSC0099small _DSC0145

Before we skipped town, headed back for the good ole Mitten, my lovely lady showed me her favorite view of the skyline. Thus, we drove across the border to Kentucky, stopped and filled up, and returned north.

_DSC0155small _DSC0156small

My first experience in the city was quite the memorable one. I wish to return anon!

4 thoughts on “Cincy!

  1. It’s rare that you wrote such an article and I love it! Feel your delightful emotions 😉 and yes, enjoying the food with the loved ones is one of the best things, although I never understand macaron.. Wow! Hilton! Never been there!

    • Thanks, Fiona! Macarons are freakin’ delicious…yet, according my pastry chef girlfriend, these particular macarons are far from great.

      I haven’t traveled much lately so it sure is rare for me to post something of the sort. Let’s hope this changes.

Leave a Reply

