I Could Live Here.

Last week while navigating through the more rural areas of Metro Detroit during a solo work trip (photographing homes for appraisals), I headed out to Oakland Charter Twp, Michigan for a quick minute. “Where the pavement ends, life begins,” or so I like to say… something like that. As a kid, I couldn’t stand gravel roads. Most of the dirt roads I’ve been down are hellish and unmaintained. Sometimes, though, I come across a few that are smoother than a lot of paved (asphalt or concrete) roads. Anyway, after snapping a few exterior shots of the house I headed home in the opposite direction, to find myself stretching a long and lonely wooded gravel road. I thought to myself, “I could live here.” With a little point & shoot in my lap I figured I’d test some of its video capabilities and shot for around 5 minutes straight. Now, of course I could’ve, and probably should’ve, gotten more footage of foliage and trees or something else. I didn’t think of it.

Note that some of the footage is sped up—I’m sure some of you realized that but ya neva neva know. πŸ˜‰ I listen to a lot of classic rock on the road (mainly 94.7 WCSX and 106.7 The D). To the guy Chris from Macomb …smile, you’re famous!

4 thoughts on “I Could Live Here.

  1. i couldnt access the video now, i’ll try again tonight.
    when you say you could live there. do you mean you could build your own wooden house in the woods? that would be very creative, fun, complex, difficult.. lol.
    p.s. if you walk on gravel road, it’s better for your health πŸ˜‰

  2. i watched the video. wow, a video is quite an interesting way to “write blog”. the best part of it is audience can see/feel exactly the same thing which author sees/feels. AMAZING.
    the music is a bit old style but match the road trip. next time you should sing together with the radio, ok? πŸ˜‰
    the place looks a bit dry.
    i’ve never driven in this kinda woods, but only via bike, cross the small woods until i get to the lake, lool.
    so much fun in this video, i’ll get a sweet sleep then. thanks, friend!

    • Sing along with the radio! Hahahaha, that’s great! I will just for you, Fiona. πŸ˜‰ The video was shot in the early stages of winter which is why it may seem dry.

Leave a Reply

